Episcopal Diocese of Washington


The Rt. Rev. Mariann Edgar Budde, Bishop of Washington

The Rt. Rev. Mariann Edgar Budde

A diocese is made up of local congregations with a bishop as its chief pastor.

The Episcopal Diocese of Washington comprises 93 Episcopal congregations in the District of Columbia and the Maryland counties of Montgomery, Prince George’s, Charles and Saint Mary’s. This diocese also includes Washington National Cathedral.

The current bishop of the Diocese of Washington is the Rt. Rev. Dr. Mariann Edgar Budde, 9th Bishop of Washington.

For more information about Bishop Budde, please click here. To read Bishop Budde’s Blog, please click here.

There are approximately 40,000 baptized worshipers in the Diocese of Washington and about 2.3 million in the Episcopal Church nationwide.  The Episcopal Church is part of the worldwide Anglican Communion (75 million members).  The congregations in the Diocese of Washington are diverse and range from small rural churches to large urban parishes. For more information about each of the parishes in the diocese, visit the Episcopal Diocese of Washington Website.

Powered by WordPress. Designed by WooThemes